It is with pleasure that we announce Hamiora Bowkett as the Chair of the Eastern Bay Primary Health Alliance.


“It is a real pleasure and privilege to work within the Eastern Bay, in particular these communities. Although life for everyone is heavily impacted by COVID, I am excited to be involved with initiatives and opportunities to improve the health and wellbeing for all,” says Hamiora.


Hamiora Bowkett, of Te Rarawa, Te Arawa, Ngāti Rangiwewehi descent, has over 20 years’ experience working in the public sector especially health, social sector, and Māori development both as a public servant and as a consultant.


He is a Ministerial appointee to the Capital and Coast District Health Board and is the Deputy Secretary Strategy, Governance and Public Sector Performance at Te Puni Kōkiri, Ministry of Māori Development New Zealand. He leads several functions and special programmes at Te Puni Kōkiri including core departmental finance, planning and performance functions as well as being responsible for the annual Budget process for the Ministry; additionally, he is responsible for wider public sector performance functions to understand how well the public sector is delivering for Māori.


Previously, Hamiora was a Deputy Director General at the New Zealand Ministry of Health responsible for policy and strategy functions as well as delivering several key priorities including the Pay Equity settlement for Home and Community Support workers and the new Government’s Budget for Health in 2018.


“Hamiora’s long history of leadership, coupled with his experience across multiple sectors makes him an ideal person for this role. I look forward to working closely with Hamiora to continue to ensure EBPHA makes a positive impact for the Eastern Bay community,” says EBPHA CE, Greig Dean.


Further to this announcement, we would like to thank our re-appointed Trust Members for their continued service and support. They are Linda Steel, Shaneen Simpson-Almond, and Dickie Farrar as Iwi members; Dr Nigel Giles, Dr Chris McKnight, and Dr Cecile De Groot as Clinical members; and Fiona Wiremu, Angela Jackson, and Erin Beeler as Community members.