Eastern Bay Primary Health Alliance

Eastern Bay Primary Health Alliance (EBPHA) is a Primary Health Organisation (PHO) that is funded by the Bay of Plenty District Health Board and others to support the provision of essential primary health care services through general practices and health providers to those people who are enrolled with EBPHA.

EBPHA provides services either directly or through its provider members. These services are in place to improve and maintain the health of the entire enrolled PHO population, as well as providing services in the community to restore people’s health when they are unwell. The aim is to ensure General Practice services are better linked with other primary health services to ensure a seamless continuum of care, in particular to better manage long term conditions.

EBPHA was established on the 1st October 2010 through the amalgamation of three former PHO's in the Eastern Bay of Plenty. The former PHO's were Whakatane PHO; Kawerau PHO and Te Ao Hou Primary Health Organisation, Opotiki.

EBPHA is a Charitable Trust incorporated under the Charitable Trust Act 1957 and registered under the Charities Act 2005 on the 27 July 2010.